Day 8


Dear Robyn,

You will be 8 days old in exactly 10 minutes. It’s been a whole week since we held you and kissed you. Some days I think of all the positive things I can do in your memory and to keep your life going, to mark your life in this world. Other days it takes all my energy just to breathe.
Often when I wake up in the night I sit in your room, it helps me feel closer to you. So does writing to you, I feel like you’re never too far away from me then. Nana and Steve have bought you a beautiful golden celebration rose in a lovely pot that we can put in the garden. When it flowers it will be a bright golden yellow rose. We’ve called it Robyn’s rose. It’s very fitting as your name means bright and shining.
We had to go back to the hospital yesterday as I wasn’t feeling very well. While we were sat in the clinic room waiting for the nurse to come back in, one of the taps suddenly turned itself on and we looked at each other and said “I bet that’s Robyn!” We saw the two nurses who looked after us when you were born which was comforting to see the same ones again. We still think that you are coming home to see your nursery.
It’s raining today, I hope you are safe and warm. Lots of love & kisses xxxx

4 thoughts on “Day 8

  1. I know that it does not feel like it, but you will survive. We lost our son 2/8/2015. Today, 4/30 is his due date. I had just hit my third trimester, he was conceived via IUI. I know your heartache, I know your pain. Just know that you are not alone. I look forward to following along on your journey.

    Like

    • Kerri I am sending you and your beautiful boy lots of love & kisses. I am so sorry for your loss. I hope today has been as manageable as possible for you. Thank you for your getting in touch it really helps to talk to others xx

      Like

      • It has helped me tremendously to talk to other parents who have gone through the same thing. There is a rich community out there of others in our position. It is a heartbreaking thing to have in common with others though. We are only three months out from our loss and most days it does get just a little bit better. Chin up. Reach out to me anytime!!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

